Dedham Savings’ Brown Named Mass. Bankers’ New Chair

The Massachusetts Bankers Association has elected a new chair and seven new members to its board of directors.

Peter Brown, president and CEO of Dedham Savings, was chosen as the trade association’s 2021-2022chair. His term began July 1.

“Peter is a highly respected and impactful leader in the banking industry, not only through his communitysupport but also in leading a $1.8 billion mutual savings bank with nine branches serving EasternMassachusetts,” Kathleen Murphy, the MBA’s president and CEO, said in a statement. “Peter will lead theassociation during a time of tremendous change as well as opportunity as banks continue to expandaccess to financial services through digital channels.”

Brown has had leadership roles in the banking industry for more than four decades, Dedham Savings saidin a separate statement. He was president and CEO of Walpole Cooperative Bank before becomingDedham Savings’ president and CEO in 2009.

“I am humbled to be elected to chair our industry’s association, which has stood the test of time sincefounding 116 years ago,” Brown said in the MBA’s statement. “Banks across the Commonwealth have beenthere for their clients and communities through the pandemic and are providing counsel and support as theeconomy continues its expansion.”

Murphy said the MBA had also formed a diversity, equity and inclusion steering committee that wouldharness the work that banks are doing to promote an inclusive industry. Brown added that expanding socialand economic access and equality was one of the MBA’s top priorities.

“Banks are in different stages of their diversity, equity and inclusion strategies and it is imperative that theassociation harness those efforts through the board of directors and our DE&I Steering Committee as weexamine how to be an even greater support for bank DE&I initiatives into the future,” Brown said.

The MBA elected Mark O’Connell, president and CEO of Hudson-based Avidia Bank, as the board’s vicechair, while Meg McIsaac, president of Raynham-based Bluestone Bank, was elected treasurer. Bristol
Savings Bank’s president and CEO, Patrick Murray, is the board’s immediate past chair.

Seven directors were added to the MBA’s 20-member board:
  • Ping Yin Chai, president and CEO of Salem Five Cents Savings Bank
  • James Dunphy, president and CEO of South Shore Bank, Weymouth
  • Robert Fraser, president and CEO of MountainOne Bank, North Adams
  • Harold Horvat, president and CEO of Centreville Bank, West Warwick, Rhode Island
  • Shimna Sameer, managing director, Northeast Division, Bank of America, Boston
  • Matthew Sosik, president and CEO of BankESB, Easthampton
  • Patrick Thorpe, president and CEO of BankGloucester
“This is a terrific group of officers and directors to lead the Massachusetts banking industry during thisdynamic time,” Murphy said. “The new and returning members of the board provide considerableexperience and expertise, as well as market knowledge in serving a very large consumer and businessfootprint across the Commonwealth.”

Dunphy of South Shore Bank said in a separate statement that he was pleased to join the board “at a timewhen there is so much positive change in our industry.”

“Serving on the board which has stood the test of time since its founding 116 years ago will enable me andSouth Shore Bank to continue the work of strengthening the industry as we advance the future of banking,”Dunphy said.
View more posts about